A Guide to All the Districts in Singapore

January 15, 2020
A Guide to All the Districts in Singapore

Singapore is divided into 28 districts according to the old postal code system. Although this system is no longer in use, property agents still use these numbers when referring to the location of the properties.

01 City - Business District
Boat Quay, Chinatown, Havelock Road, Marina Square, Raffles Place, Suntec City

02 City - Business District
Anson Road, Chinatown, Neil Road, Raffles Place, Shenton Way, Tanjong Pagar

03 Central South
Alexandra Road, Tiong Bahru, Queenstown

04 South
Keppel, Mount Faber, Sentosa, Telok Blangah

05 South West
Buona Vista, Dover, Pasir Panjang, West Coast

06 City - Business District
City Hall, High Street, North Bridge Road

07 City
Beach Road, Bencoolen Road, Bugis, Rochor

08 Central
Little India, Farrer Park, Serangoon Road

09 Central - Orchard
Cairnhill, Killiney, Leonie Hill, Orchard, Oxley

10 Central - Near Orchard
Balmoral, Bukit Timah, Grange Road, Holland, Orchard Boulevard, River Valley, Tanglin Road

11 Central - Near Orchard
Chancery, Bukit Timah, Dunearn Road, Newton

12 Central
Balestier, Moulmein, Novena, Toa Payoh

13 Central East
Potong Pasir, Machpherson

14 Central East
Eunos, Geylang, Kembangan, Paya Lebar

15 East Coast
Katong, Marine Parade, Siglap, Tanjong Rhu

16 Upper East Coast
Bayshore, Bedok, Chai Chee

17 Far East
Changi, Loyang, Pasir Ris

18 Far East
Pasir Ris, Simei, Tampines

19 North East
Hougang, Punggol, Sengkang

20 Central North
Ang Mo Kio, Bishan, Braddell Road, Thomson

21 Central West
Clementi, Upper Bukit Timah, Hume Avenue

22 Far West
Boon Lay, Jurong, Tuas

23 North West
Bukit Batok, Choa Chu Kang, Hillview Avenue, Upper Bukit Timah

24 Far North West
Kranji, Lim Chu Kang, Sungei Gedong, Tengah

25 Far North
Admiralty, Woodlands

26 North
Tagore, Yio Chu Kang

27 Far North
Admiralty, Sembawang, Yishun

28 North East
Seletar, Yio Chu Kang

Origin of the 28 districts in Singapore

During the 1950s, Singapore implemented a two-digit postal code system that corresponded to different districts. However, in 1979, the postal codes were expanded to four digits. These new codes consisted of the district number followed by sector numbers, resulting in a total of 81 sectors. As the number of buildings increased over time, the postal system needed further adjustments. In 1995, the system was once again modified to its current format, which utilizes six-digit postal codes. Each building now has its own unique number, with the first two digits representing the sector numbers used in the previous four-digit system.

What are the 3 regions in Singapore?

In addition to the district and postal code divisions, Singapore is also categorized into three regions:

The Core Central Region (CCR)

The Core Central Region includes districts 1, 2, 6, 9, 10, and 11.

  • Downtown Core (Marina Bay, Marina Centre, Raffles Place, Tanjong Pagar)
  • Outram
  • Sentosa
  • Rochor
  • Orchard
  • Newton
  • River Valley
  • Bukit Timah
  • Holland Road
  • Tanglin
  • Novena
  • Thomson

Rest of Central Region (RCR)

The Rest of Central Region includes districts 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 14, 15, and 20.

  • Bishan
  • Bukit Merah
  • Geylang
  • Kallang
  • Marine Parade
  • Queenstown
  • Southern Islands (except Sentosa)
  • Toa Payoh

Outside Central Region (OCR)

The Outside Central Region includes districts 6, 17, 18, 19, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, and 28.

  • Bishan
  • Bukit Merah
  • Clementi
  • West Coast
  • Kembangan
  • Kaki Bukit
  • Telok Kurau
  • Siglap
  • Bedok
  • Upper East Coast
  • Bayshore
  • Tanah Merah
  • Upper Changi
  • Flora Drive
  • Loyang
  • Changi
  • Tampines
  • Pasir Ris
  • Punggol
  • Sengkang
  • Hougang
  • Kovan
  • Serangoon
  • Lorong Ah Soo
  • Ang Mo Kio
  • Upper Bukit Timah
  • Ulu Pandan
  • Clementi Park
  • Jurong East
  • Jurong West
  • Boon Lay
  • Hillview
  • Bukit Panjang
  • Bukit Batok
  • Choa Chu Kang
  • Kranji
  • Lim Chu Kang
  • Sungei Gedong
  • Tengah
  • Woodlands
  • Admiralty
  • Lentor
  • Springleaf
  • Mandai
  • Yishun
  • Sembawang
  • Seletar
  • Seletar Hill
  • Sengkang West

Register for VIP Preview

(Fields marked with * need to be filled in)
Thank you! We have received your enquiry! The developer sales team will get in touch with you shortly.
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.